NBA player Jason Collins Announces He Is Gay

Posted: April 29, 2013 by B in BREAKING NEWS, NBA

Jason Collins became the first active player in major sports to come out of the closet and announce he is gay. For the full Sports Illustrated article click here. The sports community and entire community has come to support Jason him on this historic announcement. One of the most powerful statements in this article was his reason to wear number 98, “The number has great significance to the gay community. One of the most notorious antigay hate crimes occurred in 1998. Matthew Shepard, a University of Wyoming student, was kidnapped, tortured and lashed to a prairie fence. He died five days after he was finally found. That same year the Trevor Project was founded. This amazing organization provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention to kids struggling with their sexual identity. Trust me, I know that struggle. I’ve struggled with some insane logic. When I put on my jersey I was making a statement to myself, my family and my friends.”

Read More: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/magazine/news/20130429/jason-collins-gay-nba-player/#ixzz2RszghOeO

Do you think this will be the first step for acceptance or for more homophobic reactions in the sports community?

What are your thoughts? Reactions?

 

Leave a Reply

